Cloyette HS

Olivia K2

22 Feb: She Rocks! Meet Olivia K. – Neo Soul Songstress on the Rise!

Brooklyn born Olivia K is a neo soul singer/songwriter with a voice that’s full of soul. Her unique sound fuses the melodies of reggae, jazz, pop, and R&B, and she has a singing style that’s often compared to grammy winner artist, Erykah Badu. The daughter of a Guyanese mother and American father, Olivia K began signing at the tender  age of 3, creating cassette tapes of made-up songs and raps in the basement with her…

Janelle Grimmond

21 Feb: Out of Africa: Afro-Guyanese Fashionista Janelle Grimmond Showcases Pieces Inspired By the Continent

From bright beads to bold prints and beautiful colors, African fashion continues to inspire the world. No one knows this better than seasoned fashion editor, Janelle Tomeko Grimmond. The Guyanese-born, New York-bred editor has spent the last decade working for major brands in fashion and media as diverse as Ralph Lauren, Vibe Magazine and Nylon. To celebrate her stylish perspective on African fashion. Grimmond has hand selected ten special pieces that pay tribute to Africa,…

Guinean-Guyanese and Canadian: Wheelchair sprint racer Djami Diallo on her Paralympic dreams10 minute read

21 Feb: Guinean-Guyanese and Canadian: Wheelchair sprint racer Djami Diallo on her Paralympic Dreams

Djami was born in Liberia to a Guinean doctor, a Guyanese teacher, and a family of three sisters, including a twin. When she was around one years old, she was diagnosed with Spastic Diplegia Cerebral Palsy. Her parents, taking into account the outbreak of war in Liberia and the growing expensive healthcare needs of their youngest daughter, decided to make the move to France when Djami was just four years old. To this day, her…

47C17305-CC91-4283-8440-C8C0054B40D1

14 Feb: Actress Shaunette Renée Wilson Brings More Guyanese Girl Magic to Black Panther Movie!

On the eve of the release of Marvel’s Studios Black Panther, Guyanese across the globe are beaming with pride as actress Letitia Wright gets ready to light up the big screen in her starring role as Shuri. Well little did we know that there’s another Guyanese girl, with a not so prominent role in the movie, but who also deserves to be celebrated. Meet actress Shaunette Renée Wilson who plays a member of Dora Milaje, a Wakanda’s elite special forces unit,…

Andrea Foster

09 Feb: She Rocks! Middle Distance Runner, Andrea Foster, named “Woman of the Year”

Future Olympian, Andrea Fosters, recently added another award to her outstanding resume when she was named “Woman of the Year” by the New Jersey Association of Intercollegiate Athletics for Women!  The middle distance runner is the first Guyanese student to receive this distinguished honor. This annual recognition is awarded during the month of February in honor of the 32nd anniversary of National Girls & Women in Sports Day; a national observance celebrating the extraordinary achievements of women and girls…

rashada3 (Demo)

07 Feb: She Rocks! Meet Rashada Harry – Award Winning Tech Enthusiast, Founder of Your Future Your Ambition, UK

Rashada Harry is the Founder of  Your Future Your Ambition,  a social enterprise she created in 2012, which aims to encourage people from Black, Asian and Ethnic Minority backgrounds into Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) related careers.  Since its launch 6 years ago over 4500 students have attended the YFYA annual event.  The social enterprise has been recognized for its excellence and the directors as leaders and role models in STEM.  Rashada was motivated to…

F3B40C15-A7E1-48FC-8AE9-AEF1FC938CF1

31 Jan: Guyanese Actress, Letitia Wright plays “Fierce” Princess Shuri in Upcoming Black Panther Movie

The much anticipated Marvel Studios’ Black Panther movie is just 2 weeks away from hitting theatres on February 16th, and we’re so proud see one of our very own light up the big screen.  Last night stars turned out for the Black Panther world premiere at L.A.’s Dolby Theatre and Letitia Wright was a red carpet favorite. The 24 year old actress, who was born in Guyana and raised in London,  plays the role of Shuri the technologically proficient…

Ph.D. Candidate Pursues Groundbreaking Cancer Research in Lehman Biology Lab

31 Jan: Ph.D. Candidate, Leah Persaud, Pursues Groundbreaking Cancer Research at Lehman College

Born to Guyanese parents, Bronx native Leah Persaud, is a Ph.D. candidate in biology pursuing cancer research at the CUNY Graduate Center at Lehman College. Since 2015, Persaud has been conducting research in the lab of Moira Sauane, a professor in Lehman’s Department of Biological Sciences, that she hopes will ultimately lead to new cancer therapies and drug treatments. “The Lehman campus was always my first choice,” said Persaud, who expects to earn her Ph.D….

Patriotic entrepreneur, Allison Butters-Grant, is a ‘Special Person’

29 Jan: Allison Butters-Grant, CEO of Global Seafood Distributors, shares her success story…

Allison Butters-Grant  is the Chief Executive Officer of Global Seafood Distributors, an importing/exporting business that she jointly operates with her husband, Kerwin.  The daughter of successful seafood entrepreneurs she opened her own Seafood Market in Guyana specializing in wild caught seafood sourced from Guyana with the mantra “straight from the sea to your plate.” Her business distributes  seafood locally in Guyana and to the international markets, including the Caribbean and the US.  In 2015, Guyana Chronicle…

51Pe7qyHFtL.jpg

28 Jan: The Girl from the Sugar Plantation: A gripping and emotional family saga of love and secrets (The Quint Chronicles)

An unputdownable story about a woman in search of the truth, the man she falls in love with, and the devastation of the Second World War.

1934, Georgetown.

All her life, Mary Grace has wanted to know the truth about who her parents really are. As the mixed-race daughter of two white plantation owners, her childhood has been clouded by whispered rumours, and the circumstances of her birth have been kept a closely guarded secret…

Aunt Winnie is the only person Mary Grace can confide in. Feeling lost and lonely, her place in society uncertain, Mary Grace decides to forge her own path in the world. And she finds herself unexpectedly falling for charming and affluent Jock Campbell, a planter with revolutionary ideas.

But, with the onset of the Second World War, their lives will be changed forever. And Mary Grace and Jock will be faced with the hardest decision of all – to fight for freedom or to follow their hearts…

An utterly compelling and evocative story about the heart-breaking choices men and women had to make during a time of unimaginable change. Perfect for fans of The Secret Wife and Island of Secrets.

What readers are saying about Sharon Maas

‘Sharon Maas has become my ‘go-to’ author… another wonderful book by Maas that has all the trademark thought and care that resonates throughout her work. A heart-rending, epic tale of loss and identity that gets into your heart.’ Bloomin’ Brilliant Books

‘Sharon Maas is one of my favourite authors… evocative and vividHighly recommended.’ Renita D’Silva

‘A terrific writer.’ Barbara Erskine

‘A page-turning story, full of humanity, crossing cultures and continents, reminiscent of Andrea Levy.’ Katie Fforde

This book has everything. Great characters, interesting perspective and strong settings.’ Lexi Reads

Heart-breaking, poignant and intriguing… This truly is a powerful story that will fascinate and engross you from the very beginning until the very end.’ What’s Better than Books

‘The writing is stunningly evocative and sensual… I just felt immersed in the story and setting from the start.’ The Book Trail

Exceptional… evokes a whole range of emotions.’ Batty About Books

‘A beautifully written story of love against all the odds.’ Portobello Book Blog

‘A wonderful and heartrending book.’ Sean’s Book Reviews

‘A beautiful mesmerising work… I was completely transported.’ Krafti Reader

‘A beautiful story about tragic love and ultimately about forgiveness… with powerful messages about love, life and learning to let things go in order to be happy.’ Life With Joy