Guyanese Girls Rock

rashada3 (Demo)

07 Feb: She Rocks! Meet Rashada Harry – Award Winning Tech Enthusiast, Founder of Your Future Your Ambition, UK

Rashada Harry is the Founder of  Your Future Your Ambition,  a social enterprise she created in 2012, which aims to encourage people from Black, Asian and Ethnic Minority backgrounds into Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) related careers.  Since its launch 6 years ago over 4500 students have attended the YFYA annual event.  The social enterprise has been recognized for its excellence and the directors as leaders and role models in STEM.  Rashada was motivated to…

Patriotic entrepreneur, Allison Butters-Grant, is a ‘Special Person’

29 Jan: Allison Butters-Grant, CEO of Global Seafood Distributors, shares her success story…

Allison Butters-Grant  is the Chief Executive Officer of Global Seafood Distributors, an importing/exporting business that she jointly operates with her husband, Kerwin.  The daughter of successful seafood entrepreneurs she opened her own Seafood Market in Guyana specializing in wild caught seafood sourced from Guyana with the mantra “straight from the sea to your plate.” Her business distributes  seafood locally in Guyana and to the international markets, including the Caribbean and the US.  In 2015, Guyana Chronicle…

51Pe7qyHFtL.jpg

28 Jan: The Girl from the Sugar Plantation: A gripping and emotional family saga of love and secrets (The Quint Chronicles)

An unputdownable story about a woman in search of the truth, the man she falls in love with, and the devastation of the Second World War.

1934, Georgetown.

All her life, Mary Grace has wanted to know the truth about who her parents really are. As the mixed-race daughter of two white plantation owners, her childhood has been clouded by whispered rumours, and the circumstances of her birth have been kept a closely guarded secret…

Aunt Winnie is the only person Mary Grace can confide in. Feeling lost and lonely, her place in society uncertain, Mary Grace decides to forge her own path in the world. And she finds herself unexpectedly falling for charming and affluent Jock Campbell, a planter with revolutionary ideas.

But, with the onset of the Second World War, their lives will be changed forever. And Mary Grace and Jock will be faced with the hardest decision of all – to fight for freedom or to follow their hearts…

An utterly compelling and evocative story about the heart-breaking choices men and women had to make during a time of unimaginable change. Perfect for fans of The Secret Wife and Island of Secrets.

What readers are saying about Sharon Maas

‘Sharon Maas has become my ‘go-to’ author… another wonderful book by Maas that has all the trademark thought and care that resonates throughout her work. A heart-rending, epic tale of loss and identity that gets into your heart.’ Bloomin’ Brilliant Books

‘Sharon Maas is one of my favourite authors… evocative and vividHighly recommended.’ Renita D’Silva

‘A terrific writer.’ Barbara Erskine

‘A page-turning story, full of humanity, crossing cultures and continents, reminiscent of Andrea Levy.’ Katie Fforde

This book has everything. Great characters, interesting perspective and strong settings.’ Lexi Reads

Heart-breaking, poignant and intriguing… This truly is a powerful story that will fascinate and engross you from the very beginning until the very end.’ What’s Better than Books

‘The writing is stunningly evocative and sensual… I just felt immersed in the story and setting from the start.’ The Book Trail

Exceptional… evokes a whole range of emotions.’ Batty About Books

‘A beautifully written story of love against all the odds.’ Portobello Book Blog

‘A wonderful and heartrending book.’ Sean’s Book Reviews

‘A beautiful mesmerising work… I was completely transported.’ Krafti Reader

‘A beautiful story about tragic love and ultimately about forgiveness… with powerful messages about love, life and learning to let things go in order to be happy.’ Life With Joy

IMG-4056

21 Jan: She Rocks! Meet Miss Berbice, Farah Bates: Small Town Girl with Big Dreams 

Farah Valentina Bates, who was recently crowned the first Miss Berbice 2017, hails from the smallest Town in Guyana, Rose Hall, but she has big dreams of making it on an international pageant stage and being her own boss someday. Born in July 1999, this tenacious 18-year-old is a second-year student at the University of Guyana pursuing her diploma in Public Management. She is the first born for her parents and has one sibling. This…

Amanda 1

02 Jan: She Rocks! Meet Dr. Shabana Amanda Ali – Postdoctoral Research Scientist In Search of A Cure

At a time when many cultural forces continue to stand in the way of women pursuing careers in the science and technology fields, Dr.  Shabana Amanda Ali is proving to be a great role model for young female scientists.  A self-professed “Multidimensional Student of Life” her work speaks volumes of her level of commitment to the field of research science.  After witnessing the decline of her grandmother’s health due to osteoarthritis, Dr. Ali  decided to dedicate her career to finding a…

01-girls-to-watch-1

30 Dec: Guyanese-born, London-raised, Letitia Wright, Among Actresses to Watch in 2018

Vogue.com has named Letitia Wright as one of the actresses to watch in 2018.  According to the fashion and beauty website, the Guyanese-born, London-raised actress will conquer the silver screen alongside Chadwick Boseman in 2018’s Black Panther before reprising her role as Shuri in Avengers: Infinity War. Expect her to swap out her superhero duds for pieces from Burberry and Prada. Back in February we shared that Letitia landed a role in the 2018 Marvel Comics…

Guyanese appointed to American Caribbean Maritime Foundation board

13 Nov: Guyanese, Michelle Nicholas, Appointed to American Caribbean Maritime Foundation board

The newly appointed board member of the American Caribbean Maritime Foundation (ACMF), a Westchester-based charitable organization, is setting sights on increasing the group’s mission for the next generation of Caribbean youth. Michelle Nicholas, who is the vice president of development at Westchester Family Services, said she was bringing her passion and economical skills to help increase interest in Caribbean maritime. A native of Guyana, Nicholas said she was exposed to the maritime industry at a…

Gina-Miller21

26 Oct: She Rocks! Guyanese Gina Miller named Britain’s Most Influential Black Person

Congratulations to Guyanese-Born Businesswoman Gina Miller who has been named Britain’s Most influential Black Person. In a story published by BBC News, Gina topped the 2018 Powerlist of 100 people, which recognizes those of African and African Caribbean heritage.  The 52-year-old led the successful Brexit legal challenge which ruled parliament had to vote on whether Theresa May could trigger Article 50. Those named were decided by an independent panel – including former High Court judge Dame…

Ariana Austin and Joel Makonnen

15 Oct: Meet the Royal Couple! Guyanese Ariana Austin marries Prince Joel Makonnen of Ethiopia

On Sept. 9 in a lavish ceremony in Temple Hills, Maryland, Guyanese Ariana Austin married Prince Joel Makonnen who is the great-grandson of Haile Selassie, the last emperor of Ethiopia. Mr. Makonnen, known as Prince Yoel, is the 35-year-old great-grandson of Haile Selassie, the last emperor of Ethiopia. Ms. Austin, 33, is of African-American and Guyanese descent; her maternal grandfather was a lord mayor of Georgetown, the capital of Guyana. · Their marriage had been…

FarahHussain

12 Oct: She Rocks! Meet Farah Delicia Hussain – Kripalu Yoga & Thai Massage Connoisseur

Farah Delicia Hussain was born in Guyana and moved to New York City when she was four years old. She’s a certified Kripalu Yoga Teacher and Thai Massage Therapist.  Her family’s cultural and religious history, coupled with the trials of being an immigrant and a first-generation American, instilled a desire for self-exploration and healing.  Her philosophy of yoga honors self-study balanced with a deep responsibility to enhance community and environmental health. While Farah was introduced to…