; The Girl from the Sugar Plantation: A gripping and emotional family saga of love and secrets (The Quint Chronicles) | Guyanese Girls Rock!
New York, New York, USA

The Girl from the Sugar Plantation: A gripping and emotional family saga of love and secrets (The Quint Chronicles)

DO NOT DELETE

Author’s Biography

Sharon Maas was born in Georgetown, Guyana in 1951, and spent many childhood hours either curled up behind a novel or writing her own adventure stories. Sometimes she had adventures of her own, and found fifteen minutes of Guyanese fame for salvaging an old horse-drawn coach from a funeral parlor, fixing it up, painting it bright blue, and tearing around Georgetown with all her teenage friends. The coach ended up in a ditch, but thankfully neither teens nor horse were injured.
Boarding school in England tamed her somewhat; but after a few years as a reporter with the Guyana Graphic in Georgetown she plunged off to discover South America by the seat of her pants. She ended up in a Colombian jail, but that’s a story for another day. After travelling overland to India to live in an ashram. she returned to Europe, got married, and finally settled down. Today she lives and works in Germany.

Share This Book

Similar Titles

"No one forgets the truth, they just get better at lying." - Richard Yates, Revolutionary Road

The Girl from the Sugar Plantation: A gripping and emotional family saga of love and secrets (The Quint Chronicles)

Author: Sharon Maas
Pages: 336
Category:
Publisher: Bookouture
Subject:
Country:
Publication Date: 2017
Finished? No
Signed? No
First Edition? No

Purchase this title at:

Description

An unputdownable story about a woman in search of the truth, the man she falls in love with, and the devastation of the Second World War.

1934, Georgetown.

All her life, Mary Grace has wanted to know the truth about who her parents really are. As the mixed-race daughter of two white plantation owners, her childhood has been clouded by whispered rumours, and the circumstances of her birth have been kept a closely guarded secret…

Aunt Winnie is the only person Mary Grace can confide in. Feeling lost and lonely, her place in society uncertain, Mary Grace decides to forge her own path in the world. And she finds herself unexpectedly falling for charming and affluent Jock Campbell, a planter with revolutionary ideas.

But, with the onset of the Second World War, their lives will be changed forever. And Mary Grace and Jock will be faced with the hardest decision of all – to fight for freedom or to follow their hearts…

An utterly compelling and evocative story about the heart-breaking choices men and women had to make during a time of unimaginable change. Perfect for fans of The Secret Wife and Island of Secrets.

What readers are saying about Sharon Maas

‘Sharon Maas has become my ‘go-to’ author… another wonderful book by Maas that has all the trademark thought and care that resonates throughout her work. A heart-rending, epic tale of loss and identity that gets into your heart.’ Bloomin’ Brilliant Books

‘Sharon Maas is one of my favourite authors… evocative and vividHighly recommended.’ Renita D’Silva

'A terrific writer.' Barbara Erskine

'A page-turning story, full of humanity, crossing cultures and continents, reminiscent of Andrea Levy.’ Katie Fforde

'This book has everything. Great characters, interesting perspective and strong settings.' Lexi Reads

'Heart-breaking, poignant and intriguing... This truly is a powerful story that will fascinate and engross you from the very beginning until the very end.' What’s Better than Books

'The writing is stunningly evocative and sensual... I just felt immersed in the story and setting from the start.' The Book Trail

'Exceptional... evokes a whole range of emotions.' Batty About Books

'A beautifully written story of love against all the odds.' Portobello Book Blog

'A wonderful and heartrending book.' Sean's Book Reviews

'A beautiful mesmerising work... I was completely transported.' Krafti Reader

'A beautiful story about tragic love and ultimately about forgiveness… with powerful messages about love, life and learning to let things go in order to be happy.’ Life With Joy

Related Posts

Leave a comment