The Girl from the Sugar Plantation

51Pe7qyHFtL.jpg

: The Girl from the Sugar Plantation: A gripping and emotional family saga of love and secrets (The Quint Chronicles)

An unputdownable story about a woman in search of the truth, the man she falls in love with, and the devastation of the Second World War.

1934, Georgetown.

All her life, Mary Grace has wanted to know the truth about who her parents really are. As the mixed-race daughter of two white plantation owners, her childhood has been clouded by whispered rumours, and the circumstances of her birth have been kept a closely guarded secret…

Aunt Winnie is the only person Mary Grace can confide in. Feeling lost and lonely, her place in society uncertain, Mary Grace decides to forge her own path in the world. And she finds herself unexpectedly falling for charming and affluent Jock Campbell, a planter with revolutionary ideas.

But, with the onset of the Second World War, their lives will be changed forever. And Mary Grace and Jock will be faced with the hardest decision of all – to fight for freedom or to follow their hearts…

An utterly compelling and evocative story about the heart-breaking choices men and women had to make during a time of unimaginable change. Perfect for fans of The Secret Wife and Island of Secrets.

What readers are saying about Sharon Maas

‘Sharon Maas has become my ‘go-to’ author… another wonderful book by Maas that has all the trademark thought and care that resonates throughout her work. A heart-rending, epic tale of loss and identity that gets into your heart.’ Bloomin’ Brilliant Books

‘Sharon Maas is one of my favourite authors… evocative and vividHighly recommended.’ Renita D’Silva

‘A terrific writer.’ Barbara Erskine

‘A page-turning story, full of humanity, crossing cultures and continents, reminiscent of Andrea Levy.’ Katie Fforde

This book has everything. Great characters, interesting perspective and strong settings.’ Lexi Reads

Heart-breaking, poignant and intriguing… This truly is a powerful story that will fascinate and engross you from the very beginning until the very end.’ What’s Better than Books

‘The writing is stunningly evocative and sensual… I just felt immersed in the story and setting from the start.’ The Book Trail

Exceptional… evokes a whole range of emotions.’ Batty About Books

‘A beautifully written story of love against all the odds.’ Portobello Book Blog

‘A wonderful and heartrending book.’ Sean’s Book Reviews

‘A beautiful mesmerising work… I was completely transported.’ Krafti Reader

‘A beautiful story about tragic love and ultimately about forgiveness… with powerful messages about love, life and learning to let things go in order to be happy.’ Life With Joy