GGR Book Club

51Pe7qyHFtL.jpg

: The Girl from the Sugar Plantation: A gripping and emotional family saga of love and secrets (The Quint Chronicles)

An unputdownable story about a woman in search of the truth, the man she falls in love with, and the devastation of the Second World War.

1934, Georgetown.

All her life, Mary Grace has wanted to know the truth about who her parents really are. As the mixed-race daughter of two white plantation owners, her childhood has been clouded by whispered rumours, and the circumstances of her birth have been kept a closely guarded secret…

Aunt Winnie is the only person Mary Grace can confide in. Feeling lost and lonely, her place in society uncertain, Mary Grace decides to forge her own path in the world. And she finds herself unexpectedly falling for charming and affluent Jock Campbell, a planter with revolutionary ideas.

But, with the onset of the Second World War, their lives will be changed forever. And Mary Grace and Jock will be faced with the hardest decision of all – to fight for freedom or to follow their hearts…

An utterly compelling and evocative story about the heart-breaking choices men and women had to make during a time of unimaginable change. Perfect for fans of The Secret Wife and Island of Secrets.

What readers are saying about Sharon Maas

‘Sharon Maas has become my ‘go-to’ author… another wonderful book by Maas that has all the trademark thought and care that resonates throughout her work. A heart-rending, epic tale of loss and identity that gets into your heart.’ Bloomin’ Brilliant Books

‘Sharon Maas is one of my favourite authors… evocative and vividHighly recommended.’ Renita D’Silva

‘A terrific writer.’ Barbara Erskine

‘A page-turning story, full of humanity, crossing cultures and continents, reminiscent of Andrea Levy.’ Katie Fforde

This book has everything. Great characters, interesting perspective and strong settings.’ Lexi Reads

Heart-breaking, poignant and intriguing… This truly is a powerful story that will fascinate and engross you from the very beginning until the very end.’ What’s Better than Books

‘The writing is stunningly evocative and sensual… I just felt immersed in the story and setting from the start.’ The Book Trail

Exceptional… evokes a whole range of emotions.’ Batty About Books

‘A beautifully written story of love against all the odds.’ Portobello Book Blog

‘A wonderful and heartrending book.’ Sean’s Book Reviews

‘A beautiful mesmerising work… I was completely transported.’ Krafti Reader

‘A beautiful story about tragic love and ultimately about forgiveness… with powerful messages about love, life and learning to let things go in order to be happy.’ Life With Joy

Where is Home

: GGR Book Club: Where Is Home? by Mohani Stockwell

This is a story depicting the author’s early life growing up Guyana, South America. The author reflects on her family’s origin and her adolescent years spent in Bengal and Plantation Highbury. She writes about her travel, studying and working in various countries and how she was able to cope with the adversity, and diversity of life. Throughout the book the author writes about the different places she called home and how it impacted her life….

JacquelineSmartt

: GGR Book Club: Navigators Travel to Guyana by Jacqueline Smartt

Navigators Travel to Guyana gives a taste of what Guyana has to offer to its readers, and it is the follow up to Navigators Travel to Barbados written by Howard Liverpool. This time our intrepid explorers travel to Guyana and learn about the history and geography of the country. They also sample some of the local cuisine and have a scary encounter with a ram sheep. It’s a children’s book geared to kids from ages…

SUGAR AND SPICE

: GGR Book Club: Sugar and Spice and More Books by Gaitri Pagrach-Chandra

Sugar and Spice is a collection of recipes for the best of the worlds sweets, tiny cakes and patisserie, from delicately spiced Indian milk sweets to nutty Spanish marzipans; from tiny French sponge cakes to Scottish fudge. Crunchy brittles, tempting truffles, sticky toffees, caramels, nougat, honeycomb… there are treats to suit all tastes. Over 120 easy-to-follow recipes offer small delights from near and far ; ideal for all the family, for entertaining or for giving as…

The Secret Life of Winnie Cox

: GGR Book Club: The Secret Life of Winnie Cox: Slavery, forbidden love and tragedy & more books by Sharon Maas

Winnie Cox lives a privileged life of dances and dresses on her father’s sugar cane plantation. Life is sweet in the kingdom of sugar and Winnie along with her sister Johanna, have neither worries nor responsibilities, they are birds of paradise, protected from the poverty in the world around them. But everything can change in a heartbeat….When Winnie falls in love with George Quint, the post-office boy, a ‘darkie’ from the other side, she soon finds herself…

The Slipper

: GGR Book Club: The Slipper – by Amanda Sohan

The Slipper is a classic tale of love and loss portrayed in the most unconventional style. Included are lovable, colorful characters such as Meetu, Vishnu, maa and baap who’s humor infuses a serious subject matter in a very unique, warm and touching manner. What happens when a headstrong teen falls for an unsuitable suitor? What becomes of her future when her strict parents desire another path? And what ensues years later when Meetu’s past catches…

The Adventures Of Lucy And Brown Boy

: GGR Book Club: The Adventures Of Lucy And Brown Boy (ebook) by Lisa Punch

The Adventures Of Lucy And Brown Boy – Lucy is a young girl who loves adventure but lost her dog Brown Boy. This book also includes a fun coloring section as well as learning questions from the book. The Adventures Of Lucy And Brown Boy ABOUT THE AUTHOR:  Lisa Punch was born and raised in Georgetown, Guyana and migrated to the United States of America at the age of 21. She writes poetry, songs and…

I Want To Live Again

: GGR Book Club: I Want to Live Again by Queen Hadassah

“I Want to Live Again” is about a woman’s struggle to make it in America after immigrating from Guyana in South America. It deals with issues which she had to overcome to survive in Brooklyn,New York. The stories are all true but names have been changed to protect the identities of relatives and close friends. The events take place in urban settings and they are not typical of all immigrants. The book shows that anyone…

Danielle Blaq

: GGR Book Club: Poetry Collection Based On A Love Story by Danielle Blaiq

Writing poetry and short stories since the tender age of 7 years old, aspiring music artist Danielle BlaiQ opens her private collection of heartfelt expression to the world in Based On A Love Story. Best described as ‘love at first sight for the heart and mind’, this collection of poetry unfolds revealing the beautiful imperfections found in a young woman on her journey to defining womanhood. Honored for her lyrical illustrations, bold reflections, and vulnerable…

: GGR Book Club: Walk Wit’ Me . . .: All Ova Guyana by Helena Martin

My memoir is laced with nostalgia and at the same time it is my sincere intention to portray the true essence of the Guyanese culture without offence. Keep in mind that this is not based on the experience of every Guyanese. This was the way I saw and experienced things back then. The use of colloquialism is of utmost importance; it is the vernacular we understand. It may sound like another language so unless you…